Date of Birth 20-8-1931
Qualifications M.A. Philosophy (1958), PhD in Aesthetics (1963)
Occupation   Professor of Philosophy (Retired).Currently National Professor

Dr S.L. Bhyrappa is a litterateur par excellence. He writes in the south Indian language, Kannada, and has been the bestselling novelist for over 25 years now. His novels are widely translated to pan Indian languages. He is the bestselling novelist in Marathi over the past decade and is among the top-five bestselling authors in Hindi. He is a conscious artist that depicts fundamental human emotions in his novels. In addition to his profound knowledge of Indian philosophical and cultural traditions, Professor Bhyrappa has since his childhood had intense personal experiences in both rural and urban milieu. Consequently, his characters are deeply rooted in Indian soil. Seminars have been and are being held on his novels, and volumes of literary criticism have been published on his works.

His books have found their way to the curriculum of undergraduate and postgraduate degree courses of the universities in the state of Karnataka, and have been the subject of about 20 PhD dissertations. He has penned 24 novels and four volumes of literary criticism and books on aesthetics, social issues and culture. Most of his novels are translated into almost all the Indian languages and six into English. He has served as a Prof. of Philosophy over three decades at NCERT.

Dr Bhyrappa is an avid listener of both Indian and Western classical music and has a keen eye for Art. Travelling has been his paasion since childhood and he has travelled across the globe touching the glaciers of poles, forests of Amazon, deserts of Africa, bustling cities of Europe and the United States. He has trekked in the Alps, the Rockies, Andes and in Fujiama, but the Himalayas remain his greatest passion.

Autobiography: Bhitti (Canvas) 1996 – 11th reprint

  • Academic Publications in English
    • Values in Modern Indian Educational Thought, 1968 (New Delhi: National Council of Educational Research and Training)
    • Truth & Beauty: A Study in Correlations, 1964 (Baroda: M. S. University Press)
    • 20 Research Papers published in various Journals like Indian Philosophical Quarterly, Darshana International, Journal of University of Baroda
  • Research and Fellowship
    • National Research Professor, Government of India, 2014
    • One of the five members of the Indian Literary Delegation that visited China on invitation by the Government of China, 1992
    • Ford Foundation Award to visit the USA to study the cultural problems of Indian immigrants to the USA, 1983
    • British Council Fellowship tenured at the School of Education, University of London, 1977
  • Plays - Movies - Television Series - Avadhaana based on SLB's Works


    • Vamshavriksha (Hindi) - 50+ Shows

    Script by Pratibha Prahlad Ph.D

    • Vamshavriksha (Kannada) - 30+  Shows

    Script and Direction by Sindavalli Ananthamurthy

    • Mandra (Kannada) - 50+ Shows 

    Independently Directed by Dr.B.V. Rajaram and Ramanath

    • Saartha (Kannada) 

    Dance Drama Directed by Tulsi Ramachandra


    • Naayi-Neralu (Kannada) directed by Girish Kasaravalli, 2006
    • Matadana (Kannada) directed by T.N. Sitaram, 2000
    • Vamshavriksham (Telugu) directed by Mr. Bapu – 1978
    • Tabbaliyu Neenaade Magane (Kannada and Hindi as Godhuli) directed by Girish Karnad and B.V. Karanth, 1976/75
    • Vamshavriksha (Kannada) directed by B.V. Karanth and Girish Karnad, 1972

    TV Series

    • Gruhabhanga directed by Girish Kasaravalli
    • Daatu (Ullanghan) directed by Basu chatterjee

    Ashtaavadhaana based on SL Bhyrappa's Novels by Shataavadhaani R Ganesh

  • Literary and Other Engagements
    • International Conference, University of Udine, Italy, 2007
    • President, Association of Kannadigas Meeting, Dubai, 2007
    • Association of Kannada Koota America, Washington DC, USA, 2006
    • President of the 67th Akhila Bharata Kannada Sahitya Sammelana, Kanakapura, India, 1999
    • President, World Kannada Sammelana, Phoenix, USA, 1998
    • Inaugural Address, All Indian Marathi Literary Conference, Goa, India, 1994
    • East-West Writers Meeting, Bled, Slovenia, 1991
    • Representative of India, UNESCO Seminar on Moral Education, Tokyo, Japan, 1975
    • Chairman and President of over 25 literary conferences held in India
  • Literary Awards
    • Padma Shri award from Government of India, 2016
    • Mamoni Raisom Goswami National Literature Award from Asam Sahitya Sabha, 2016
    • Honorary Doctorate from Mysore University,2016
    • Sahitya Akademi Fellowship from Government of India, 2015
    • Honorary Doctorate from Mysore University,2015
    • Betageri Krishna Sharma Award, 2014
    • Vagvilasini Puraskar from Deenanath Memorial Foundation, Mumbai, 2012
    • Saraswati Samman for the novel Mandra from Birla Foundation, 2011
    • Honorary D.Litt from Gulbarga University, 2007
    • Hedgewar Award (Calcutta), 2007
    • NTR Award (Andhra Pradesh), 2007
    • Honorary D.Litt from Karnataka Government Open University, Mysore, 2005
    • Pampa Prashasti (Karnataka State) Award, 2006
    • Samanyajnana Award for Contribution to Literature, 2002
    • S.R. Patil Award for Contribution to Literature, 2000
    • Gorur (Ramaswami Iyengar) Award for Contribution to Literature, 2000
    • Award of the Bharatiya Bhasha Parishat, Samvatsar Puraskar (Calcutta) for Tantu, 1996-97
    • Masti (Venkatesha Iyengar)  Award for Contribution to Literature (Bangalore), 1996
    • Granthaloka (The Book World) Best Literary Work of the Year Award for Saakshi, 1988
    • The Karnataka State Award for Total Contribution to Literature, 1986
    • The Karnataka Sahitya (Literary) Academy Award for Contribution to Literature, 1985
    • Central Sahitya Academy (Institute of Letters) Best Literary Work Award (New Delhi) for Daatu, 1975
    • The Karnataka State Sahitya (Literary) Academy Best Literary Work of the Year Award (Bangalore) for Daatu, 1974
    • The Karnataka State Sahitya (Literary) Academy Best Literary Work of the Year Award for Vamshavriksha, 1968
  • Awards for Films based on SLB’s Novels
    • International Film Festival of Mumbai MAMI Best Film Award for Naayi-Neralu (Kannada), 2007
    • Osian’s Asian Film Festival, CINEFAN, Jury Award in the Indian Film Category for Naayi Neralu, 2006
    • Karachi International Film Festival Best Feature Film Award for Naayi-Neralu, 2006
    • Karantaka State Film Award for Naayi-Neralu, 2006
    • The Government of India Best Regional Feature Film Award for Matadana (Kannada), 2001
    • The Government of India Best Feature Film Award for Godhuli (Hindi) 1977
    • The Government of India Best Feature Film Award for Vamshavriksha (Kannada), 1972
Click here to download the Profile of Dr SLB


Back To Top